Guide to Finding Resources: Navigating the Library Website

The library website can be accessed by clicking the link at the top left corner of the ACPE home page.

You can also access the library site from within LMS. Just click on the Library Services button from your Dashboard.

About your library provides you with information about using the library.

You will also find the contact information for the library staff.

Please familiarise yourself with the library's policies on the ACPE website.

Find information about borrowing and library facilities under About.

Total loans 10 items

 *Renewals only available if item is not overdue or on hold.

Overdue notices & library fines

Use the library search to find items in the ACPE library collection, such as books, ebooks, DVD's, videos, kits, journal articles, images, video and audio streaming, podcasts, pJournals, eJournals, realia, ephemera and archival resources.  Simply type in keywords from the title, author or subject. 

An everything search will find all resources, both physically in library and all digital resources - including eBooks and journal articles. This is the most comprehensive search across the entire ACPE library collection, both owned and subscribed (databases) resources.

A library Catalogue search will only find resources physically in the library as well as eBooks owned by the library

A database search will only find digital resources, including ebooks and journal articles.

Databases are a great place to search for current and specific information. This may be peer reviewed journal articles, books, images, thesis or research papers. 

Select Databases from the drop down Database Search to do a search of databases in one go or select an individual database from the All databases list. The database name will give you some idea as to what content is covered, e.g. SPORTDiscus has a sports focus, while ERIC has an education focus.

eBooks are digital equivalents of printed books. You can access them online, 24/7 any time, any place. Search for an eBook by keyword, author, or title, then choose eBook from the format facet, then include. 

Use your normal student login to read the eBook online or download Adobe Digital Editions to read offline. Browse eBook collections here.  If you do not have the software already on your device, you will be prompted to download - there is no charge. Books are covered by copyright legislation in the same way as printed books. To download an EBSCO eBook, in addition to your LMS login, you will need to create a personal account. See the EBSCO eBook tutorial on this page if you need assistance.

If you don't know where to start looking for information for an assignment take a look at our unit guides. We are developing them for our units at ACPE and we are always working on new ones. The unit guides will give you information on the best books, journals, websites and other resources that will help you with your studies. They also give information on how to reference your work to avoid plagiarism.

Referencing is an important part of any academic course. It ensures that your lecturer is able to assess the quality of your resources. It also gives credit to the original author for the work they have done. To use the work of another author without correct referencing is called plagiarism.

Find more information about referencing at ACPE here.

The Quick Links box is located on the library home page. It gives access to some of the most common online services of the library.